CBC Television Network

This Hour Has 22 Minutes

Network: CBC Television Network

Broadcast Run: 1993

Broadcast Medium: Television

Debuted October 11, 1993

Developed by Mary Walsh and Cathy Jones, formerly of the Newfoundland comedy show Codco, this show  adapted the name of one of CBC’s most controversial past shows, This Hour Has 7 Days, and gave it a whole new dimension.

The CBC described the show as  “the collective comic genius of the dynamite cast and their alter egos.”  The original cast featured Mary Walsh, Cathy Jones, Rick Mercer and Greg Thomey. The strong writing and excellent character work made this show immediately appealing to audiences. The early favourite characters  included Mary Walsh as Marg Delahunty, Cathy Jones as Babe “I’m just goofing around” Bennett, and Greg Thomey as news correspondent Tim MacMillan, and the weekly rants of Rick Mercer.

  Mercer left the show in 2001 to host Rick Mercer’s Monday Report which later became the Rick Mercer Report.  The durability of This Hour was reaffirmed by the CBC’s renewal of the series for 2009-2010, and it was again renewed for the 2010-11 and 2011-2012 seasons.

 On June 8th 2011 the CBC announced that This Hour Has 22 Minutes would return to their schedule on Tuesdays at 8:30 pm effective September 13th.

On April 19th 2012, the CBC confirmed that the series would again be part of their schedule in the Fall. The series returned on Tuesday September 18th at 8:30 pm. 

On April 3rd 2013 the CBC announced that This Hour Has 22 Minutes would return to the 2013-14 schedule. The series recommenced on Tuesday October 8th at 8:30 pm.

On April 4th 2014, This Hour Has 22 Minutes was included in a list of CBC programs whose renewal was confirmed for the 2014-15 season, and the series was included at 8:30 pm on Tuesdays in the CBC fall schedule announced on May 29th. 

On March 4th 2015 the CBC announced that This Hour Has 22 Minutes would again be in the CBC schedule for the Fall of 2015, with a further 19 episodes.  It continued to draw most satisfactory audiences for the CBC, and on May 27th 2020 it was announced that This Hour has 22 Minutes would be returning to the schedule in the fall.

In September 2020, This Hour Has 22 Minutes returned for a 28th season on CB.C, starring Mark Critch, Cathy Jones, and Trent McClellan.


This Hour Has 22 Minutes
Main Cast

Cathy Jones [1993- present]
Shaun Majumder [2003 – present]
Mark Critch [2003 – present]
Gavin Crawford [2003- present]
Geri Hall [2007 – present]

Rick Mercer [1993 – 2001]
Colin Mochrie [2001 – 2003]
Mary Walsh [1993 – 2004]
Greg Thomey [1993 – 2005]

Guest Cast Members:

This Hour Has 22 Minutes
Guest Cast

Shauna MacDonald
Mark Farrell
Jonathan Torrens
Dan Joffre
Jennifer Robertson
Kathy Greenwood
Tracy Dawson
Rebecca Northan