CBC Television Network

Republic of Doyle, The

Network: CBC Television Network

Broadcast Run: 2010 to 2014

Broadcast Medium: Television

On January 6th 2010 the CBC launched a one-hour ‘comedic drama’, Republic of Doyle, about a private investigation father-and-son team in St. John’s Newfoundland. The series was shot in Newfoundland, and was created by Allan Hawco, Perry Chafe and Malcolm MacRury.

Perry Chafe and Allan Hawco

The writers included Perry Chafe, Allan Hawco and Kerri MacDonald. The Executive Producers were Michael Levine, Allan Hawco and John Vatcher, and producers included Ray Sager and Rob Blackie.  Original music was by John McGrath.  The series was produced by Take The Shot Productions.

Rachel Wilson, Allan Hawco and Krystin Pellerin
Rachel Wilson, Allan Hawco and Krystin Pellerin

On March 1st 2010, after six of the first twelve episodes of the series had been aired,  CBC advised the producers that it would renew the series for a second season.

In August 2010 it was reported that the series had just been sold to ABC Australia, having previously been sold in the U.K., France, Spain, Russia, Scandinavia, Turkey, Africa, the Middle East and Latin America.

Republic of Doyle returned to the CBC for a second season on January 12th 2011, and on February 13th the series was announced as having been renewed for the 2011-2012 season.   The third season began on Wednesday January 11th 2012, with Russell Crowe as a surprise guest star, and ended on April 4th 2012.

 On April 19th it was announced that Republic of Doyle had been renewed for the 2012-13 season, and it was in the new CBC fall schedule.   On November 13th the CBC announced that, after a short break,  Republic of Doyle’s fourth season would start on a new night, Sundays, on January 6th 2013.

The fourth series of thirteen episodes ended on April 21st 2013. Earlier that month, the CBC had confirmed that Republic of Doyle had been renewed for the 2013-14 season. The fifth season started on October 2nd 2013, on Wednesdays at 9 pm.  During the season, Republic of Doyle and another CBC series, Murdoch Mysteries, produced crossover episodes.

On April 4th 2014 the CBC announced that they had renewed Republic of Doyle for the 2014-15 season, and it appeared in the CBC fall schedule announced on May 29th. However, Allan Hawco had announced earlier in May that this upcoming sixth season would be the series’ final season.  

Series Cast:

Allan Hawco … Jake Doyle  
Sean McGinley … Malachy Doyle
Leslie … Krystin Pellerin 
Lynda Boyd … Rose Miller 
Rachel Wilson … Nikki Renholds  
Krystin Pellerin … Leslie Bennett  
Marthe Bernard … Tinny Doyle  
Mark O’Brien … Des Courtney  
Sean Panting … Walter
Bob Cyle… The Republic
Michelle Nolden…   Allison Jenkins

Written by Pip Wedge – April, 2013