CBC Television Network


Network: CBC Television Network

Broadcast Run: 1958 to 1959

Broadcast Medium: Television

Aired Tuesdays and Thursdays during the day from September 30, 1958 to June 25, 1959.

This half hour children’s show was set in the imaginary village of Whistletown, featuring human characters and puppets. The puppets were created and operated by John and Linda Keogh, pioneers of television for children. Their more famous work was to be found on Maggie Muggins and Razzle Dazzle. Every Tuesday was a visit to the toyshop and every Thursday, a visit to the fire hall.

The show featured Larry Beattie as Mr. Bean, Claude Rae as the Postman, George Feyer, Hugh Webster as Mr. Haggarty, Ross Snetsinger, Rex Hagon, Jack Mather (puppet voice), Jean Caball as Mayor Jacques and Alan Crofoot. It was written by John Gerrard and Cliff Braggins and produced by John Kennedy.

Written by Joseph Chrysdale – August, 2006