CBC Television Network

Newsroom, The

Network: CBC Television Network

Broadcast Run: 1996 to 2005

Broadcast Medium: Television

A satiric comedy about a local TV newsroom. Written, produced and directed by Ken Finkleman. Original cast: Ken Finkleman, Jeremy Hotz, Mark Farrell, Tanya Allen, Peter Keleghan, Dave Huband, Karen Hines and Julie Khaner. Guests included Pamela Wallin, Eddie Shack, David Cronenberg and Hugh Segal. It originally aired from 1996 to 1997 as a two year series, only to return in January 2004 for 13 episodes. The new cast featured Finkleman, Keleghan and Karen Hines, with newcomers Douglas Bell, Alberta Watson, Jody Racicot, Matt Watts and Holly Lewis.

THE NEWSROOM was a production of 100 % Film & Television Inc., in association with CBC Television, Showcase Television and with the participation of Telefilm Canada. Executive producers were Jan Peter Meyboom and Ken Finkleman. 

Written by John Corcelli – February, 2004