CBC Television Network

House of Pride

Network: CBC Television Network

Broadcast Run: 1974 to 1976

Broadcast Medium: Television

Aired Thursday nights for two seasons, from September 1974 to May 1976.
This weekly,half-hour melodrama, was intended to become the Canadian version of The Forsyte Saga, and to offer something to relate to viewers in all parts of Canada. Regrettably, it aimed a little too high for most television viewers. Twentyfour characters made up the cast of the Pride family and its married offspring. While the Forsytes all lived in London, the Prides were scattered from coast-to-coast. Consequently, viewers needed a program to follow the family tree and its cultural story lines.

The story surrounded the death of the patriarch, old Daniel Pride, played by George Waite, and the disposition of his estate. The family members, each with their own self-interest, came together to resolve the situation. Alas, it didn’t go very smoothly and there lay the dramatic tale of the House of Pride. Geographic factions solidified, and the family separated into its respective camps.

The producers included Herb Roland, who created the series, Jack Nixon-Browne, Michael Sinelnikoff and Hugh Beard. The writing team consisted of Alan Oman, Tom Ashmore, Charles Israel, Ron McInnis and George Robertson. The Executive Producer was John T. Ross.

Principal Cast:
Budd Knapp as Ross Pride
Murray Westgate as Daniel Pride
Cec Linder as Andrew Pride
Angela Clare as Hester Pride
George R. Roberston as Irwin Fisher
Charmion King as Mary Kirby
Neil Dainard as Jim Dowhan
Amulette Garneau as Lili Fortin
Pierre Dufresne as Claude Fortin
Florence Patterson as Bernice Pride
Colin Fox as Dan Pride
Steve Pernie as Arthur Boychuk
Julie Amato as Jenny Boychuk

Written by John Corcelli – August, 2005