CBC Television Network

Front Page Challenge

Network: CBC Television Network

Broadcast Run: 1957 to 1995

Broadcast Medium: Television

When Lever Brothers were looking for a 1957 summer replacement series for a game show they were sponsoring on the CBC, writer John Aylesworth created Front Page Challenge, which became an immediate hit and ran for 38 years. The format challenged the panel to identify news stories from the past,  by asking questions of challengers who had been associated with those stories in one way or another. Originating from Toronto, and occasionally from major cities across Canada, the 30 minute program made its debut on June 24th 1957, and aired from then until it was finally cancelled in 1995.

The original producer was Harvey Hart, succeeded by Jim Guthro, and later Ray McConnell. The announcer was  Bernard Cowan. Hosts, Win Barron (1957), Alex Barris (1957) and Fred Davis (1957 to 1995).

Regular panelists: Pierre Berton (1957 to 1995), Gordon Sinclair (1957 to 1984), Toby Robins (1957 to 1961), Betty Kennedy (1961 to 1995), Allan Fotheringham (1984 to 1995) and Jack Webster (1991 to 1995).

Written by John Corcelli – April, 2002