CBC Television Network

Frankie Drake Mysteries

Network: CBC Television Network

Broadcast Run: 2017

Broadcast Medium: Television

Starring Lauren Lee Smith, the CBC’s eleven one-hour series of Frankie Drake Mysteries followed a Toronto female private detective in the 1920s as she took on a series of difficult cases the police had problems handling. She proved skillful at solving cases, but her brand of justice did not always tend to follow the law. Along with her partner Trudy (played by Chantel Riley), Frankie and the Drake Detective Agency took on a variety of cases, and her unorthodox style would get her into all kinds of trouble, but she always seemed to find her way out.

Also in the cast were Rebecca Liddiard as police morality officer Mary Shaw, Sharron Matthews as morgue attendant Flo, and Emmanuel Kabongo as boxer Moses Page.

Frankie Drake Mysteries was developed and produced by Shaftesbury with the participation of the Canada Media Fund, the Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit, and the Ontario Film and Television Tax Credit. Created by Murdoch Mysteries writers Carol Hay and Michelle Ricci, who also served as executive producers, Frankie Drake Mysteries was executive produced by Christina Jennings, Scott Garvie and Cal Coons, who also served as showrunner. The series was produced by Jonathan Hackett and Julie Lacey.

The series was renewed for 2018, and on March 25th 2019 the CBC announced that a third season of ten Frankie Drake episodes had been ordered. The show continued to be a success, and on May 27th 2020 the CBC announced that the series would be returning to the schedule in the winter of 2020-2021.