Global Television Network

Firm, The

Network: Global Television Network

Broadcast Run:  2012

Broadcast Medium: Television

At its Upfront presentation on May 31st, 2011, Global announced with pride that it had fifteen new scripted dramas planned for the 2011-2012 season, some of which would be on the Global Network, and others on Showcase.

Among the former was The Firm, a series of 22 60-minute episodes to be based on the John Grisham bestseller, which would be broadcast on both Global and NBC. The series would debut in mid-season 2012.

The series would be produced by Entertainment One Television in association with Sony Pictures Television’s Networks Group and Paramount Pictures.

Hollywood Reporter reported that Lukas Reiter would be executive producing The Firm along with Grisham. Co-executive producers would be John Morayniss, Michael Rosenberg and Noreen Halpern at Entertainment One.  Lukas Reiter would also show-run The Firm, with writers Alyson Feltes, Peter Noah, David Feige, William Rothko, Vincent Angell and Jonathan Shapiro.

The series would continue the story of  attorney Mitchell  McDeere and his family, ten years after the events of the novel and Paramount’s 1993 movie adaptation. After a difficult decade, the series would catch up with the McDeere family as they emerged from isolation to reclaim their lives and their future. 

In November 17th 2011, NBC announced that The Firm would premiere on their network on January 10th 2012.  On December 13th Global announced that the series would debut with a special two-hour premiere event on Sunday, January 8 on both Global and NBC, with subsequent episodes airing Thursdays.

The series starred Josh Lucas, Molly Parker, Callum Keith Rennie and Julliette Lewis.

The first series ran for 22 episodes, concluding on Global on June 30th and on NBC two weeks later.  NBC cancelled the series in May 2012, and Global did not renew for Canada.

Regular cast:
Josh Lucas                   Mitch McDeere
Molly Parker               Abby McDeere
Callum Keith Rennie  Ray McDeere
Juliette Lewis              Tammy Hemphill 
Natasha Calis              Claire McDeere
Tricia Helfer               Alex Clark
Martin Donovan         Kevin Stack
Shaun Majumder        Andrew Palmer
Paulino Nunes             Louis Coleman

Written by Pip Wedge – June, 2012