CBC Television Network

Border, The

Network: CBC Television Network

Broadcast Run: 2008 to 2010

Broadcast Medium: Television

Debuted: Monday January 7, 2008 at 9PM

Billed as  “a new hard-driving drama series set against the backdrop of today’s turbulent world”, The Border was the story of a team of elite customs and security agents whose main responsibility was the protection of the Canada-U.S. border.

The Border- Cast
The Border- Cast

The show had a lot of newsworthy material on which to draw: drug trafficking, human cargo, immigration, terrorism and political corruption. In fact, many of the episodes had an eerie familiarity to them, considering the current state of the world.

Peter Raymont and Peter Jones produced the series for the CBC and White Pine Pictures. 

Cast: James McGowan as Maj. Mike Kessler
Sofia Milos as Special Agent Bianca Lagarda
Graham Abbey as Det. Sgt. Gray Jackson
Nazneen Contractor as Sgt. Layla Hourani
Jonas Chernick as Agent Heironymous Slade
Catherine Disher as Supt. Maggie Norton
Mark Wilson as Det. Sgt. Al “Moose” Lepinsky
Jim Codrington as Insp. Darnell Williams
Nigel Bennett as Agent Andrew Mannering .

The Border remained in the CBC schedule for three seasons, but on March 2nd 2010 it was reported that the series would not be renewed for a fourth year.

Written by John Corcelli – January, 2008