Global Television Network

Falcon Beach

Network: Global Television Network

Broadcast Run: 2006 to 2007

Broadcast Medium: Television

Falcoln Beach 1

Global launched this steamy young adult series January 5, 2006.  The story of Falcon Beach centred on a group of local and vacationing young men and women, sharing three months together in a waterfront community on the shores of fictional “Lake Winnipeg”.  It was about the townies who work and grew up there, the visitors escaping their city lives, and the clashes and relationships that result, all wrapped up in the romance of summer.  Hook-ups, break-ups, heartaches and heart throbs, Falcon Beach was about first kisses, second glances and lasting memories.  The arcade, the dance hall, the campfire, the wakeboard and the motorboat were the visible hallmarks of small town life on the water.  Just below the surface, however, was where the real story came alive, revealing the passions and personalities of each of the Falcon Beach characters, their relationships and tentative alliances.

 The lead actors:  Steve Byers as series heart throb and wakeboard jock, Jason Tanner; Nova Scotia native Jennifer Kydd as society girl Paige Bradshaw; Calgary-born Devon Weigel as Tanya Shedden, Falcon Beach’s wild child and recovering addict; and Morgan Kelly as visiting trouble maker and law breaker Lane Bradshaw.  Also in the cast:  Ephraim Ellis as Danny Ellis, arcade manager, best friend and first timer at love, and Melissa Elias, a Winnipeg native as lifeguard Erin Haddad, Danny’s main squeeze.

 The music of some of today’s hottest alternative and independent artists including Broken Social Scene, Kathleen Edwards, Hawksley Workman and Hedley was heard throughout the series. 

 In March 2006 Global commisioned a second block of thirteen episodes, but in April 2007 Global announced that Falcon Beach would not be renewed for a third season.

Falcoln Beach 2

Production Company:  An Insight Productions/Original Pictures Production, in association with Global Television

Executive Producers: John Brunton, Kim Todd and Barbara Bowlby
Producers: Kim Todd, John Murray and Shannon Farr
Created by: John Murray, Shannon Farr
Directors: Bill Corcoran, Andrew Potter, Norma Bailey

Broadcast: 2006
Time slot: Thursday, 8:00 pm
Running time: 60 minutes

Written by Joanne Ingrassia – May, 2005