CTV Television Network


Network: CTV Television Network

Broadcast Run: 2002

Broadcast Medium: Television

Ben Mulroney & Tanya Kim

The gestation of this series was a local daily entertainment show, enow, which debuted on CFTO-TV Toronto in the fall of 1996, as a one-hour program on Saturdays at 7:00pm. It was first hosted by Lin Elioff, followed by Carla Collins and Dan Duran.  Owing something in style and content to the U.S. syndicated series Entertainment Tonight, but with a much greater emphasis on Canadian performers, the series continued on Saturdays on CFTO in various early evening time periods, being reduced to a half-hour in the fall of 1998.  

The title changed to eTalk in 2001, and in the fall of 2002 it became eTalk daily, moving to 1:00 – 1:30pm Monday – Friday, now on the full CTV network, and with Ben Mulroney as the new host, and Tanya Kim as co-host. It later reverted simply to eTalk.

On June 9th 2003, the program was moved into early prime time, 7:00 – 7:30pm, and on August 12th 2003 repeats began being scheduled at 12:30am. The same scheduling for etalk daily was announced in June 2005 as continuing into the 2005-2006 season. The series was still running in 2010-2011, with each show repeated at 1pm the following day, and on June 2nd 2011 it was confirmed that the series would continue in the 2011-2012 season.

 At CTV’s Upfront presentation in Toronto on May 31st 2012, it was confirmed that E Talk would return for an eleventh season in its regular weekday 7:00 – 7:30 pm time period.

 On June 22nd it was reported that, in addition to his E Talk duties, Ben Mulroney would be contributing to the weekend edition of ABC’s Good Morning America, effective June 23rd.

 On June 6th 2013 CTV confirmed that ETalk would again be in the CTV schedule Monday to Friday at 7 pm, in the 2013-14 season.

 On August 21st 2013 CTV announced that Devon Soltendieck was joining ETalk as a new reporter. Said CTV in making the announcement: “Joining ETalk in its mission to profile and nurture Canadian talent, shine a spotlight on home-grown music, film, fashion and television, and provide a unique Canadian lens for international entertainment news, Soltendieck joins anchors Ben Mulroney and Tanya Kim, senior reporter Danielle McGimsie, and fellow reporters Lainey, and Traci Melchor”.  Soltendieck made his ETalk debut on Monday, Aug. 26 at 7 p.m.

 In November 2014, CTV announced that Tanya Kim would be leaving ETalk, as part of the cutbacks Bell Media was instituting to offset diminishing revenues. In January 2015, CTV announced that Danielle Graham, who had been with ETalk since 2007, latterly as Senior Reporter, would become co-anchor with Ben Mulroney. 

The series continued, and in announcing its return for the 2018-19 season, Nanci MacLean, Vice-President, Bell Media Studios and President of Pinewood Toronto Studios,  said: “Etalk is poised to kick off another season as Canada’s most-watched entertainment news program.” 

At its Upfront presentation on June 6th 2019, the Network announced that ETalk would be continunin in its weekday 7 pm time period in the 2019-2020 season.

On June 22nd, Ben Mulroney announced that he would be stepping down as host of ETalk.

On September 14th, CTV announced that Tyrone Edwards would be the new co-host of ETalk. In making his first appearance, Tyrone Edwards said:

“I am Black, un-muted, and ready. This is an opportunity to combine two of my loves, entertainment and community, at a time when pop culture and social issues are so aligned. I’m excited that the world of entertainment can now lead us to ongoing conversations about racism, climate change, and mental health.”