CTV Television Network

Cold Squad

Network: CTV Television Network

Broadcast Run: 1998 to 2005

Broadcast Medium: Television

Julie Stewart starred as Sergeant Ali McCormick in this one-hour series dealing with a crime squad that handled murder cases that had gone unsolved, hence ‘cold’,  not forgotten. Despite several cast changes over the years, or maybe because of them, the series continued to draw good viewing numbers over seven seasons. Michael Hogan costarred as Detective Tony Logozzo in the earlier episodes, and other names seen over the years  included Joy Tanner as psychological profiler Jill Stone, Tamara Craig-Thomas as Detective Mickey Kollander, Peter Wingfield as Chief Inspector Ross and Garry Chalk as Inspector Pawlachuk.

Launched in January 1998 at 10:00pm on Fridays, the one-hour series was subsequently seen on Thursdays at 9:00 and Saturdays at 8:00.  It was in the network’s schedule for 2003-2004, but did not survive the season. A total of 98 episodes in all were produced, and the series was formally cancelled early in 2004. Cold Squad was produced in Vancouver for CTV by Keatley MacLeod and Alliance Atlantis.

It is noteworthy that, in Cold Squad’s last year on CTV, the network schedule also contained a CBS series called Cold Case, whose format had a somewhat similar premise to its Canadian predecessor.  Cold Case was in the network’s 2004-2005 schedule announced in June 2004.

Written by Pip Wedge – June, 2004