CHLF-TV

CHLF-TV, TFO, Toronto

Ontario French-Language Educational Communications Authority

StationAnnéeChannelNetwork AffiliateProp./Info
CHLF-TV
2007
25 (Sudbury)
Télé-Française d'Ontario
Ontario French-Language Educational Communications Authority
CHLF-TV
1994
25 (Sudbury)
Télé-Française d'Ontario
The Ontario Educational Communications Authority
CHLF-TV
1989
25 (Sudbury)
La Chaîne Française
The Ontario Educational Communications Authority
1986

Le 3 décembre, le CRTC a approuvé la demande faite par l'Office de la télécommunication éducative de l'Ontario (TVOntario) en vue d'obtenir une licence de radiodiffusion visant l'exploitation d'un réseau de télévision éducative de langue française. La licence viendrait à échéance le 30 septembre 1991. TVOntario est un télédiffuseur éducatif public, établie en vertu d'une loi provinciale. Depuis sa création, TVOntario s'engageait à offrir des services de télédiffusion dans les deux langues officielles. Avec seulement 5% de sa grille d'abord en français, TVOntario a élargi la gamme de ses émissions de langue française pour atteindre 17% de la programmation, y compris une plage de 15,5 heures par semaine entre midi et minuit le dimanche, ainsi que des plages de 07h00 à 08h00 le jeudi et de 04h00 à 16h30 du lundi au vendredi. Le nouveau réseau de langue française a résulté d'une initiative conjointe des gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario. Le ministère fédéral des Communications et le ministère ontarien de la Citoyenneté et de la culture ont chacun contribué 15 millions de dollars pour la mise en place et le fonctionnement du réseau. Par ailleurs, au moment de présenter sa demande de renouvellement de la licence du réseau de langue anglaise, TVOntario projetait d'allouer plus de 8,6 millions de dollars à la programmation de langue française. Le nouveau réseau de langue française s'appuierait sur la programmation et les installations techniques et administratives existantes de TVOntario, et serait distribué par satellite aux câblodistributeurs à travers la province.
Ce service de langue française offrirait un horaire hebdomadaire de programmes pour les enfants, jeunes et adultes comprenant sept heures et demie de programmation pédagogique formelle à l'école; quatre heures de programmation pédagogique non formelle visant à impliquer les téléspectateurs dans les cours d'apprentissage interactif à temps partiel; et 71 heures d'apprentissage informel non structurel mettant l'accent sur les intérêts et les préoccupations franco-ontariens. Le premier jalon de l'édification de ce réseau de langue française serait l'inventaire d'émissions francophones déjà programmé dans la grille de TVOntario le dimanche. De plus, TVOntario a proposé que des émissions acquises et des productions canadiennes originales constituent jusqu'a 67,5% des émissions diffusées entre 07h00 et 12h30, alors que 59,5% de la programmation prévue entre 18h00 et minuit serait canadienne.
Au sujet de la distribution par satellite proposée, le Conseil a noté que le Règlement sur la télédistribution, 1986 exigeait que les entreprises de câblodistribution des classes 1 et 2 en Ontario allaient devoir distribuer des services de programmation éducative de TVOntario dans les deux langues sur la bande de base et sur une base prioritaire. Selon les estimations faites par la titulaire, sur les quelques 1,5 million d'Ontariens à laquelle le service de langue française était destiné, plus des deux tiers étaient déjà abonnés au câble, tandis que 17% des autres spectateurs ciblés y avaient accès. Comme moyen de distribuer davantage le service de câble, TVOntario a également prévu d'établir des diffusions télévisées dans les régions où la population francophone était suffisamment grande, et à cette fin a alloué six pour cent du financement total approuvé pour le service français (1,8 million de dollars). Les zones désignées comprenaient Ottawa, Cornwall, Windsor, Sudbury et Hawkesbury / Rockland. Lors de l'audience, la titulaire a avisé le Conseil qu'elle allait bientôt présenter des demandes de licences afin d'installer des réémetteurs pour desservir les deux dernières régions.

                                                                  

1987

La Chaîne Française (appelée communément la Chaîne) a commencé ses opérations le 1er janvier à minuit. Jusqu'à ce moment, TVOntario diffusait en français le dimanche de midi jusqu'à la fin des émissions. Une fois la Chaîne lancée, TVO a continué à offrir ce service en français le dimanche alors que la Chaîne a diffusé en anglais pendant le même créneau. La Chaîne était le seul réseau de télévision de langue française au Canada dont les opérations étaient basées à l'extérieur du Québec.
Le 9 septembre, TVOntario (OECA) a reçu l'approbation d'exploiter des émetteurs de télévision de langue française à Hawkesbury et Sudbury, sur les canaux 39 et 25 avec les puissances apparentes rayonnées de 6840 watts et 164 400 watts respectivement, afin de retransmettre les émissions de la Chaîne Française alimentées par satellite.

1987-88

Comme la Chaîne était en pleine opération et la grille des émissions pédagogiques dans la journée s'était beaucoup développée, la production de langue française a augmenté de 65% par rapport à l'année précédente.

 

1988-89

Jacques Bensimon a été nommé directeur de la programmation de langue française.

 

1989

Les émetteurs de Sudbury et Hawkesbury sont entrés en ondes.

 

1990

Le 23 mars, le CRTC a approuvé les demandes faites par la Chaîne Française pour la mise en service des émetteurs suivants: New Osnaburgh (canal 20), Sultan (canal 28), Hawk Junction (canal 19), Harris Township (canal 16), Évanturel (canal 22 ), Lac Ste-Thérèse (canal 32) et Brethour (canal 26). La puissance de tous ces émetteurs était de 20 watts. Chaque émetteur recevait sa programmation par satellite.
Le 19 septembre, le CRTC a approuvé la demande d'un émetteur de télévision de faible puissance pour desservir Longlac. Ce service distribuerait les émissions de la Chaîne Française sur le canal 17 avec une puissance d'émission de 40 watts.
Le 17 octobre, le CRTC a renouvelé administrativement les licences de radiodiffusion de CHLF-TV-1 Sudbury (anciennement CISF-TV-1) et de CHLF-TV-2 Hawkesbury (anciennement CHLF-TV), qui rediffusaient la programmation de la Chaîne Française, du 1er octobre 1991 au 31 août 1992. Ce renouvellement de licence de courte durée permettrait au Conseil d'envisager le renouvellement de ces licences en même temps que celle de la Chaîne Française.

1990-91

La Chaîne a lancé sa première campagne d'adhésion, Le Téléthon.

 

1991

Le 4 janvier, le CRTC a approuvé les demandes de licences pour des émetteurs à Oba et Summer Beaver en vue de retransmettre, sur les canaux 17 et 11, respectivement, et avec une puissance d'émission respective de 20 watts et 5 watts, les émissions de la Chaîne Française, alimentées par satellite. Ces licences, délivrées par le CRTC à l'Office de la télécommunication éducative de l'Ontario (TVOntario), viendraient à échéance le 31 août 1992. Ce renouvellement de licences de courte durée permettrait au Conseil d'envisager le renouvellement de ces licences en même temps que celle de la Chaîne Française. Le 13 mai, le CRTC a approuvé la demande d'un émetteur à Pembroke en vue de diffuser sur le canal 17 avec une puissance d'émission de 58 100 watts, les émissions de La Chaîne française, alimentées par satellite.
Le 22 novembre, le CRTC a approuvé une demande de TVOntario en vue d'exploiter un émetteur à Kirby's Corner, en vue de retransmettre les émissions de la Chaîne Française sur le canal 51 avec une puissance d'émission de 40 watts.

1992

Le 22 mai, le CRTC a approuvé la demande d'ajouter un émetteur de la Chaîne Française à Kaboni sur le canal 28, avec une puissance d'émission de 40 watts.
Le 27 novembre, l'émetteur de Pembroke (canal 17) est entré en ondes.
Des questions ont été soulevées à l'Assemblée législative quant au coût du service français. La Chaîne Française rejoignait environ un dixième des spectateurs de TVO, tout en représentant le tiers des 80 M $ alloués à TVO.

1992-93

La Chaîne a lancé Panorama, émission phare consacrée aux affaires publiques et aux arts, et diffusée en direct.
La Chaîne a ouvert un bureau à Ottawa desservi par l'unité de production mobile de TVO.
La Chaîne a lancé un fonds documentaire de 600 000 $.

1993-94

La Chaîne est devenue le premier radiodiffuseur canadien à diffuser de grands films étrangers comme Cinéma Paradiso de même que de longs métrages canadiens comme Jésus de Montréal.

 

1994

Déormais la Chaîne Française serait connue sous le vocable de TFO (Télé française de l'Ontario).
Comme TVO et TFO disposait d'un certain nombre d'émetteurs à différents endroits, les deux chaînes ont convenu de ne plus faire d'échanges d'émissions dominicales dans l'autre langue (en français à l'antenne de TVO et en anglais à l'antenne de TFO).

1995

Le 31 janvier, le CRTC a approuvé la demande faite par l'Office de la télécommunication éducative de l'Ontario en vue de modifier les licences autorisant la télédiffusion de la programmation éducative de langues française et anglaise détenues par TVOntario en supprimant l'autorisation d'opérer l'émetteur du service de langue anglaise CICA-TV-10 situé à Jogues; et en ajoutant l'autorisation d'exploiter un émetteur à Jogues permettant de distribuer le service de langue française, la Chaîne. TVOntario a indiqué que 90% de la population de Jogues avait demandé que le service de langue anglaise soit remplacé par la Chaîne.
Le 27 octobre, le CRTC a approuvé l'installation d'un émetteur de TFO à Val Rita, sur le canal 28 avec une puissance apparente rayonnée de 20 watts.

1997

Le 2 octobre, le CRTC a approuvé une partie de la demande de TVOntario qui lui permettrait par condition de licence d'intégrer TFO (alimenté par satellite) au service de base de Fundy Cable Ltd. au Nouveau-Brunswick. Selon le Conseil, l'approbation de cette demande était dans l'intérêt de la communauté francophone du Nouveau-Brunswick puisque la province n'avait pas son propre service de télévision éducative.

 

1997-98

TFO et TVO ayant effectué la conversion de leurs signaux de diffusion de l'analogique au numérique, les coûts de transmission par satellite ont baissé de plus de 50%.

 

1999

Le 14 octobre, TFO a reçu l'approbation du CRTC pour l'ajout d'un émetteur de faible puissance à Nakina, sur le canal 9 avec une puissance d'émission de 10 watts.

 

2000

Le 1er mars, le CRTC a rejeté, par un vote à la majorité, la demande présentée par l'Office de la télécommunication éducative de l'Ontario (TVOntario) relative à la fourniture dans la province de Québec de son service de télévision éducative de langue française appelée TFO. Plus précisément, la requérante avait demandé que toutes les entreprises de câblodistribution de classe et les entreprises de distribution SDM desservant le Québec soient obligées de distribuer TFO sur un volet analogique facultatif payant.

 

2006

Le 29 juin, le Gouvernement de l'Ontario a annoncé une restructuration de TVOntario. Dorénavant, TFO relèverait d'une nouvelle société de la Couronne, l'Office des télécommunications éducatives de langue française de l'Ontario, et serait gérée et financée de façon distincte.

 

2007

TFO a annoncé son autonomie complète en date du 1er avril. Ce changement n'a été endossé par le CRTC que le 28 juin: le Conseil a approuvé la demande faite par l'Office de la télécommunication éducative de l'Ontario, au nom d'une société devant être constituée (la requérante), en vue d'acquérir les actifs de l'entreprise de programmation du satellite au câble CHLF-TV Toronto, détenue à l'époque par l'Office de la télécommunication éducative de l'Ontario (TVOntario). Cette acquisition des actifs de CHLF-TV Toronto comprenait également l'acquisition de ses émetteurs CHLF-TV-1 Sudbury, CHLF-TV-2 Hawkesbury, CHLF-TV-3 Évanturel, CHLF-TV-4 Harris Township, CHLF-TV-5 Hawk Junction, CHLF-TV-6 Lac Ste-Thérèse, CHLF-TV-7 New Osnaburgh, CHLF-TV-9 Brethour, CHLF-TV-10 Longlac, CHLF-TV-12 Summer Beaver, CHLF-TV-13 Pembroke, CHLF-TV-14 Kirby's Corner, CHLF-TV-5 Kaboni, CHLF-TV-16 Val Rita et CHLF-TV-18 Nakina, Ontario. La requérante a déclaré que le but de sa demande était de mettre en œuvre la décision du Gouvernement de l'Ontario accordant la pleine autonomie à TFO, service de télévision éducative de langue française. Le Conseil a noté que les émetteurs de télévision communautaire de faible puissance CHLF-TV-8 Sultan, CHLF-TV-11 Oba et CHLF-TV-17 Jogues ne faisaient pas partie de la licence de radiodiffusion devant être émise. La requérante a indiqué que les communautés desservies par ces émetteurs recevaient des signaux de radiodiffusion par satellite et que, par conséquent, ces communautés avaient demandé que ces émetteurs soient mis hors service. La licence viendrait à échéance en date du 31 août 2008.
Gisèle Chrétien a été nommée présidente de TFO

2008

Le 16 juillet, le CRTC a renouvelé la licence de radiodiffusion pour le service du satellite au câble de TFO et de ses émetteurs jusqu'au 31 août 2015. À cette époque TFO exploitait les émetteurs suivants: CHLF-TV-1 Sudbury, CHLF-TV-2 Hawkesbury, CHLF-TV-3 Évanturel, CHLF-TV-4 Harris Township, CHLF-TV-5 Hawk Junction, CHLF-TV-6 Lac Ste-Thérèse, CHLF-TV-7 New Osnaburgh, CHLF-TV-9 Brethour, CHLF-TV-10 Longlac, CHLF-TV-12 Summer Beaver, CHLF-TV-13 Pembroke, CHLF-TV-14 Kirby's Corner, CHLF-TV-15 Kaboni, CHLF-TV-16 Val Rita et CHLF-TV-18 Nakina. Dans sa demande, TFO s'est engagée à diffuser au moins neuf heures d'émissions prioritaires par semaine pendant les heures de grande écoute. Cet engagement était conditionnel à ce que le Fonds canadien de télévision continue à financer la programmation de TFO pendant la nouvelle période de licence. TFO s'est engagée à diffuser au moins 39 heures par semaine d'émissions canadiennes pour enfants et adolescents de 2 à 17 ans au cours de sa nouvelle période de licence. TFO s'est engagée à soutenir et à encourager les talents canadiens et à dépasser les exigences de contenu canadien établies par le Conseil en consacrant pas moins de 60% de sa programmation à la diffusion de contenu canadien au cours de chaque journée et au moins 50% au cours de chaque soirée. TFO a également proposé de créer, en collaboration avec la communauté de la production indépendante franco-ontarienne, au moins 56 heures de programmation de dramatiques canadiennes, soit au moins 24 heures de plus qu'entre 2000 et 2008. La titulaire entendait continuer à diffuser des séries musicales pendant les heures de grande écoute. La titulaire ne diffuserait aucun message publicitaire à part ceux faisant la promotion de ses propres émissions et activités.
Le 12 décembre, le CRTC a autorisé la modification de la licence de TFO afin d'en permettre la distribution en format haute définition (HD).

2009

Le 31 mars, TFO a lancé une diffusion simultanée HD appelée TFO HD. Ce service serait distribué uniquement par câble et par satellite et ne serait pas diffusé en direct.

 

2010

TFO a nommé Glenn O'Farrell, ancien directeur général de l'Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs (ACR), au poste de président et chef de la direction. "TFO est une institution essentielle aux communautés francophones de l’Ontario, reconnue comme productrice et distributrice de contenus éducatifs et culturels de qualité," a précisé M. O’Farrell. "Il est impératif de répondre aux défis et saisir les opportunités face au rendez-vous de la numérisation médiatique pour continuer sa mission de servir encore mieux le fait français en Ontario."

 

2012

Le 27 juillet, le CRTC a approuvé la demande de modification de la licence de radiodiffusion de TFO (CHLF-TV Toronto), exploité par l'Office des télécommunications éducatives de langue française de l’Ontario (OTÉLFO), afin de supprimer toute référence à quatre émetteurs analogiques, à compter du 1er août 2012. L'OTÉLFO prévoyait de cesser l'exploitation de ces émetteurs le 31 juillet 2012. Les émetteurs suivants ont été supprimés de la licence: CHLF-TV-1 Sudbury, CHLF-TV-2 Hawkesbury, CHLF-TV-6 Lac Ste-Thérèse, et CHLF-TV-13 Pembroke.

 

CTA Donation - FR

Nous dépendons des subventions et des dons de l’industrie

Voyez nos commanditaires

CHLF-TV

CHLF-TV, TFO, Toronto

Ontario French-Language Educational Communications Authority

StationYearChannelNetwork AffiliateOwner/Info
CHLF-TV
2007
25 (Sudbury)
Télé-Française d'Ontario
Ontario French-Language Educational Communications Authority
CHLF-TV
1994
25 (Sudbury)
Télé-Française d'Ontario
The Ontario Educational Communications Authority
CHLF-TV
1989
25 (Sudbury)
La Chaîne Française
The Ontario Educational Communications Authority
1986

On December 3, the CRTC approved the application by The Ontario Educational Communications Authority (TVOntario) for a broadcasting licence to carry on a French-language educational television network operation. The licence would expire September 30, 1991. TVOntario operated as a non-commercial educational broadcaster, established by provincial legislation. Since its inception, TVOntario operated on the principle that its service should be available in both official languages. With only 5% of its schedule initially in French, TVOntario expanded the range of its French-language programming to 17%, including 15.5 hours per week scheduled from noon to midnight on Sunday, as well as 7:00 to 8:00 a.m. Thursday and 4:00 to 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday. The new French-language network was the result of a joint initiative of the governments of Canada and Ontario which committed $30 million for its establishment and operation, with the federal Department of Communications and the Ontario Ministry of Citizenship and Culture each contributing $15 million. This is in addition to the $8.6 million that TVOntario allocated for French language programming in the projections it submitted with the application for the renewal of the English language television network service. The new network would draw on TVOntario's existing programming, technical and administrative facilities, and would be distributed via satellite to cable systems throughout the province.

This French-language service would offer a weekly schedule of programs for children, youth and adults that included 7 hours 30 minutes of formal in-school instructional programming; 4 hours of non-formal educational programming, designed to involve viewers in interactive part-time learning courses; and 71 hours of informal, non-structural learning with particular emphasis on Franco-Ontarian interests and concerns. The network would build from an inventory of programs that the French service had already established through TVOntario's Sunday schedule. It proposed that acquired and originally produced Canadian material would make up 67.5% of the broadcast day between 7:00 a.m. and 12:30 a.m., while 59.5% of the programming scheduled from 6 p.m. to midnight would be Canadian.

The Commission noted with respect to the proposed satellite distribution that the Cable Television Regulations, 1986 required all Class 1 and 2 cable systems in Ontario to distribute both the English and French language educational programming services of TVOntario on the basic band on a priority basis. The licensee estimated that of the approximately 1.5 million Ontarians to whom the French-language service was targeted, more than two-thirds already subscribed to cable, while a further 17% had access to it. As a means of supplementing the cable-distributed service, TVOntario also planned to establish television transmitting undertakings in areas where the francophone population was sufficiently large and had allocated six per cent of the total approved funding for the French service ($1.8 million) for this purpose. The designated areas included Ottawa, Cornwall, Windsor, Sudbury and Hawkesbury/Rockland. The licensee advised the Commission at the hearing that it would soon submit applications for licences to establish retransmitters to serve the latter two regions

1987

La Chaîne Française (known on-air as La Chaîne) began operations at midnight, January 1. Up to this time, TVOntario broadcast in French on Sundays from noon until sign-off. Following the launch of La Chaîne, this Sunday service continued on TVO while at the same time, La Chaîne offered the same time period in English. La Chaîne was the only French-language television network in Canada whose operations were based outside of Quebec.

On September 9, TVOntario (OECA) received approval to operate French-language television transmitters at Hawkesbury and Sudbury, on channels 39 and 25 with effective radiated powers of 6,840 watts and 164,400 watts respectively to rebroadcast the programs of La Chaîne française, received via satellite

1987-88

With La Chaîne in full operation and the expansion of its daytime schools schedule, French-language production increased by 65% over the previous year.

1988-89

Jacques Bensimon was named managing director of French-language programming.

1989

The Sudbury and Hawkesbury over-the-air transmitters began operation.

1990

On March 23, the CRTC approved applications for the operation of transmitters for La Chaîne française at: New Osnaburgh (channel 20), Sultan (channel 28), Hawk Junction (channel 19), Harris Township (channel 16), Evanturel (channel 22), Lac Ste-Thérèse (channel 32) and Brethour (channel 26). Transmitter power for all: 20 watts. Each would receive its programming via satellite.

On September 19, the CRTC approved the application for a low-power television transmitter to serve Longlac. This undertaking would distribute the programs of La Chaîne française on channel 17 with a transmitter power of 40 watts.

On October 17, for administrative reasons, the CRTC renewed the broadcasting licences for CHLF-TV-1 Sudbury (formerly CISF-TV-1) and CHLF-TV-2 Hawkesbury (formerly CHLF-TV), which rebroadcast the programming of La Chaîne française, from 1 October 1991 to 31 August 1992. This term would enable the Commission to consider renewal of these licences at the same time as that of La Chaîne française.

1990-91

La Chaîne held its first membership drive, Le Telethon.

1991

On January 4, the CRTC approved the applications for licences for transmitters at Oba and Summer Beaver to rebroadcast, on channels 17 and 11, respectively, and with a respective transmitter power of 20 watts and 5 watts, the programs of La Chaîne française, received via satellite. The Commission issued licences to The Ontario Educational Communications Authority (TVOntario) expiring August 31, 1992. This term would enable the Commission to consider the renewal of these licences at the same time as that of "La Chaîne française". 

On May 13, the CRTC approved the application for a transmitter at Pembroke to broadcast on channel 17 with a transmitter power of 58,100 watts, the programs of La Chaîne française, received via satellite.

On November 22, the CRTC approved an application by TVOntario for authority to operate a transmitter at Kirby's Corner to rebroadcast the programs of La Chaîne française, on channel 51 with a transmitter power of 40 watts.

1992

On May 22, the CRTC approved the application to add a La Chaîne française transmitter at Kaboni, operating on channel 28, with a transmitter power of 40 watts.

On November 27, the Pembroke transmitter (channel 17) began operations.

Concern was being expressed in the legislature about the cost of the French service. It got about a tenth of the viewing but took about a third of TVO's $80 million budget.

1992-93

Panorama, La Chaîne's flagship live public affairs and arts program was launched.

La Chaîne's Ottawa office opened - serviced by TVO's mobile production unit.

La Chaîne introduced a $600,000 documentary fund.

1993-94

La Chaîne became the first Canadian broadcaster to offer major foreign films such as Cinéma Paradiso and Canadian feature films like Jésus de Montréal.

1994

La Chaîne Française became known as TFO (Télé-Française de l'Ontario).

It should be noted that with over-the-air transmitters on the air in a variety of locations, TVO and TFO discontinued the Sunday afternoon and evening switch of language programming (French on TVO and English on TFO).

1995

On January 31, The Ontario Educational Communications Authority received CRTC approval to amend the licences of the English and French-language educational television programming undertakings held by TVOntario by deleting the authority to operate at Jogues the transmitter of the English-language service CICA-TV-10; and by adding the authority to operate a transmitter at Jogues, to distribute the French-language service, "La Chaîne". TVOntario indicated that 90% of the population of Jogues requested the replacement of the English-language service with "La Chaîne".

On October 27, the CRTC approved the addition of a transmitter for TFO at Val Rita, operating on channel 28, with an effective radiated power of 20 watts.

1997

On October 2, the CRTC approved part of TVOntario's application that would allow it by condition of licence, to have TFO distributed (received via satellite), on the basic service of the cable distribution undertakings licensed to Fundy Cable Ltd. in New Brunswick. The Commission considered that approval of the application was in the interest of New Brunswick's large Francophone community, particularly since the province did not have its own educational television service.

1997-98

The TFO and TVO broadcast signals were switched from analog to digital, which led to a reduction of more than 50% in ongoing satellite transmission costs.

1999

On October 14, TFO received CRTC approval for the addition of a low-power transmitter at Nakina, operating on channel 9, with a transmitter power of 10 watts.

2000

On March 1, The CRTC, by majority vote, denied the application by The Ontario Educational Communications Authority (TVOntario) relating to carriage in the province of Quebec of its French-language educational television service known as TFO. Specifically, the applicant had requested that all Class 1 cable systems and MDS distribution undertakings serving Quebec be required, on a mandatory basis, to distribute TFO on a discretionary analog tier for a fee.

2006

On June 29, the Government of Ontario announced a restructuring of TVOntario. TFO would be taken over by a new, separate Crown corporation - the Ontario French-Language Educational Communications Authority (Office des télécommunications éducatives de langue française de l'Ontario), with a separate management and budget.

2007

TFO announced its autonomy from TVO as of April 1. The CRTC did not approve the change until June 28: The Commission approved the application by the Ontario Educational Communications Authority, on behalf of a corporation to be incorporated (the applicant), to acquire the assets of the satellite-to-cable programming undertaking CHLF-TV Toronto, currently held by the Ontario Educational Communications Authority (TVOntario). The acquisition of assets of CHLF-TV Toronto also included the acquisition of its transmitters CHLF-TV-1 Sudbury, CHLF-TV-2 Hawkesbury, CHLF-TV-3 Evanturel, CHLF-TV-4 Harris Township, CHLF-TV-5 Hawk Junction, CHLF-TV-6 Lac Ste Thérèse, CHLF-TV-7 New Osnaburgh, CHLF-TV-9 Brethour, CHLF-TV-10 Longlac, CHLF-TV-12 Summer Beaver, CHLF-TV-13 Pembroke, CHLF-TV-14 Kirby's Corner, CHLF-TV-5 Kaboni, CHLF-TV-16 Val Rita and CHLF-TV-18 Nakina, Ontario. The applicant stated that the purpose of its application was to implement the decision of the Ontario government granting full autonomy to the French-language educational television service, TFO. The Commission noted that the low-power community television transmitters CHLF-TV-8 Sultan, CHLF-TV-11 Oba and CHLF-TV-17 Jogues were not included in the broadcasting licence to be issued. The applicant indicated that communities served by these transmitters now received satellite broadcasting signals and that, consequently, these communities had requested that these transmitters be taken out of service. The licence would expire August 31, 2008.

Gisèle Chrétien was chair of TFO.

2008

On July 16, the CRTC renewed the broadcasting licence for the satellite-to-cable television service TFO and its transmitters to August 31, 2015. At this time TFO operated the following transmitters: CHLF-TV-1 Sudbury, CHLF-TV-2 Hawkesbury, CHLF-TV-3 Evanturel, CHLF-TV-4 Harris Township, CHLF-TV-5 Hawk Junction, CHLF-TV-6 Lac Ste-Thérèse, CHLF-TV-7 New Osnaburgh, CHLF-TV-9 Brethour, CHLF-TV-10 Longlac, CHLF-TV-12 Summer Beaver, CHLF-TV-13 Pembroke, CHLF-TV-14 Kirby's Corner, CHLF-TV-15 Kaboni, CHLF-TV-16 Val Rita and CHLF-TV-18 Nakina. In its application, TFO committed to airing at least nine hours of priority programming each week during peak time. This commitment was conditional upon funding from the Canadian Television Fund, which supported TFO programming, continuing during the new licence term. TFO committed to airing at least 39 hours per week of Canadian programming for children and teenagers 2 to 17 years of age during its new licence term. TFO committed to supporting and encouraging Canadian talent and exceeding the Commission's Canadian content requirements by devoting no less than 60% of its programming to the broadcast of Canadian content each broadcast day and no less than 50% in each evening broadcast period. TFO also proposed to create, in collaboration with the Franco-Ontarian independent production community, at least 56 hours of Canadian drama programming, i.e. at least 24 hours more than between 2000 and 2008. The licensee intends to continue broadcasting music series, which would air during peak time. The licensee would not broadcast advertising messages other than those promoting its own programs and activities.

On December 12, the CRTC gave permission for TFO to be made available for distribution in high definition (HD) format.

2009

On March 31, TFO launched an HD simulcast called TFO HD. TFO HD only broadcast a cable and satellite feed and did not broadcast over-the-air. 

2010

TFO named former CEO of the Canadian Association of Broadcasters (CAB) Glenn O'Farrell as its new president and CEO. "TFO is an essential institution for francophone communities throughout Ontario, and is recognized as a producer and distributor of quality educational and cultural content," said O'Farrell, in a statement. "It is imperative that we meet the challenges and seize the opportunities presented by the digital media to continue its mission to better serve French life in Ontario." 

2012

On July 27, the CRTC approved the application to amend the broadcasting licence for TFO (CHLF-TV Toronto), operated by the Ontario French Language Educational Communications Authority (OFLECA), in order to delete reference to four analog transmitters, effective August 1, 2012. The OFLECA planned to cease operation of these transmitters on July 31, 2012. The following transmitters were removed from the licence: Sudbury CHLF-TV-1, Hawkesbury CHLF-TV-2, Lac Ste-Thérèse CHLF-TV-6, and Pembroke CHLF-TV-13.

2019

Eric Minoli was named interim president and CEO of Groupe Média TFO. Minoli had been with TFO for more than 12 years, most recently as VP and COO. Glenn O’Farrell vacated the role August 16 after being with TFO since 2010.

The story continues elsewhere...
Effective September 1st 2019, we will only be adding new material to these station histories in exceptional circumstances. Our intent to chronicle the early days of these radio and television stations has been achieved, and many new sources and technologies, from the
CRTC website to Wikipedia, and others, are now regularly providing new information in these areas.
CTA Donation

We rely on grants and donations from industry

View our sponsors
CTA Personalities

Learn more about the personalities involved in Canada's broadcasting history.

Learn more